Host announced for AFC Asian Cup 2015

The Asian Football Confederation has announced that Australia will host the AFC Asian Cup 2015, Asia's biggest sports tournament.

It will be played in the Australian summer month of January in the east-coast states of Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria and in the Australian Capital Territory.

The opening game is likely to be played in Melbourne's 55,000 capacity Etihad Stadium and the final in Sydney's 85,000 capacity ANZ Stadium.

Football Federation Australia expects the 32 match event will attract between 438,000 and 510,000 spectators with the Socceroos expected to play at least one group game in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

Qatar is hosting the AFC Asian Cup 2011 which commences on 7 January. 16 national teams are participating.