Young Socceroos win Weifang Cup in China

Australia's U-19 Young Socceroos have won the Weifang Cup after recording a 1-0 win over Uzbekistan in their match to finish the tournament one point ahead of hosts China. Australia won four of their five matches winning the tournament ahead of second-placed China with Iran in third position. The only defeat for the Young Socceroos was against China who scored a late winner from the penalty spot. The Australians earlier played South Korea (1-0), Iran (4-1), China (0-1) and Shandong Luneng (5-3).

The tournament is the first international outing for the current generation of Young Socceroos, Luke De Vere, Dane Milovanovic, James Holland, Ante Cicak, Daniel Mullen, James Brown, Richard Greer, Tahj Minniecon (AIS/Queensland Roar), Jerrad Tyson, Bonel Obradovic, Milos Lujic, Sebastian Ryall, Andrew Redmayne (AIS/Central Coast Mariners), Matthew Mullen (AIS/Adelaide United), Alex Sunasky, Matthew Theodore, Isaka Cernak-Okanya, Matthew Jurman, Matthew Harper and Jason Hoffman.

Qualification for the 2009 FIFA World Youth Cup will commence in October with the first stage of qualifying to be followed next year by the AFC U-19 Championship.