Lahore beats Afghans in Pakistan women's final

Sports Sciences Club of Lahore won Pakistan's 3rd National Women’s Football Championship after beating Afghanistan 1-0 in the final at the Jinnah Stadium. Ace striker Ayesha Akram netted the winner in the 26th minute of the first half to help her team lift the coveted trophy. "The winners gave no chance whatsoever to all out attacks of Afghanistan in the second session and kept their slender lead intact till the end. Afghanistan’s main striker Hadesa missed an open chance in the second half when the goalkeeper of the winning team, Nabeela Raza, was alone in front of her," the Daily Times reported. Hidayat Ullah supervised the match while Ejaz Hussain, Yasmeen Zehra and Khalida Perveen performed duty on the touchline as his assistants.

Final positions: 1: Lahore’s Sports Sciences Club; 2: Afghanistan; 3: Karachi’s Diya Club; 4: Balochistan; 5: Islamabad; 6: Pakistan WAPDA;
7: Sindh; 8: Pak Punjab; 9: Young Rising Star Red; 10: Lahore Women’s Club; 11: Young Rising Star Blue; 12: Azad Jammu and Kashmir’s Pilot FC; 13: Higher Education Commission; and 14: Mardan Club.

The visiting Afghanistan team will now play a two match friendly series against Pakistan on 26 and 27 August at the Punjab stadium, the first ever women's football event between the two countries. Bank Alfalah will be the sponsor of both games and entry to the stadium will be free.