Ten teams tipped for inaugural Indian pro league

The All India Football Federation is still looking to launch its Professional League from October 2007 and AIFF president Priyaranjan Dasmunsi says that in its inaugural year, the league will have 10 teams. Professional club criteria will include having at least 14 contractual players, a licensed coach and access to stadiums. The proposed professional season is from 2 October - 28 February with state leagues commencing after the professional league ends.

"Four out of 14 contractual players would have a two-year stable contract and players' obligation to the club will be permanent. In its second year, the professional club would be either a company or a registered society with their own regulation and statute with financial backing of sponsor and the number of contractual players would go up to 18," Dasmunsi said as quoted by Indiantelevision.