Group stage of Asian U-19 Youth Championship

The draw for the Asian Football Confederations U-19 AFC Youth Championship Qualification Competition, to be played during 1-11 November, has put reigning champions, North Korea in a relatively easy group with China, Malaysia, Macau, Singapore and East Timor. The top-two teams from each of the seven groups advance to the 2008 Finals along with the best third-placed team. Finals host Saudi Arabia qualifies automatically. The top-four finishers of AFC Youth Championship 2008 will advance to the 17th FIFA World Youth Championship 2009.

Forty-two teams came out of pots and were divided into two zones, with each zone being divided further into six technical levels based on the AFC Youth Championship 2006 ranking. All the matches will be played in one centralised venue hosted by one country in the group.

Group A: Iraq, UAE, Kuwait, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Mongolia
Group B: Pakistan, Iran, India, Bahrain, Oman, Lebanon
Group C: Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Syria, Qatar, Turkmenistan, Bhutan
Group D: Jordan, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Nepal, Palestine, Afghanistan
Group E: Japan, Thailand, Laos, Myanmar, Maldives, Taiwan
Group F: North Korea, China, Malaysia, Macau, Singapore, East Timor
Group G: South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Guam