A-League's Perth Glory gets new local ownership

Football Federation Australia today announced that a Perth-based consortium led by mining entrepreneur Tony Sage, leading financial services director Brett McKeon and property developer John Spencewill assume the ownership of the licence to operate Perth Glory FC, the exclusive A-League franchise in the booming Western Australian market. “It is very important to have people involved in Perth Glory who are committed to the success of new football and who are well known in the Perth business community,” FFA Chairman Frank Lowy said welcoming the new ownership group.

The timing of the transition will allow for ample planning and strategies to be implemented to ensure the club is well prepared for their third Hyundai A-League campaign and beyond. Head Coach Ron Smith and Assistant Coach David Mitchell, who will both remain at the club, have met with the new owners to update them on the recruitment process of players for the 2007/08 season.

FFA Head Operations Matt Carroll praised the efforts of the Perth Glory players and staff for their support and professionalism, especially to current Chief Executive Officer Michelle Phillips who oversaw the operations of the club on a day to day basis since the FFA took over the club's management in May 2006. Phillips, who is employed by the FFA, will assist in the hand-over process to the new management and is holding discussions with the FFA on other opportunities.

One of the key priorities laid down by the new owners is to re-engage WA sports fans, and in particular the local football community, with Perth Glory FC. “Each of us in the partnership is competitive by nature and that’s the attitude we will bring to the club. West Australian’s are passionate about their sport and by providing exciting and competitive matches we are confident we can see the support grow,” Brett McKeon said on behalf of the new board.