Indonesian Premier League kicks off for 2007

After a one-week postponement, the last season of the Premier League as the top division in Indonesian football commenced on 10 March. The Liga Djarum (named after domestic tobacco company which is in its last of four seasons as the professional competition's major sponsor) has 36 teams split into western and eastern zones. According to Football Association of Indonesia criteria, up to 18 of the clubs will be invited to join the inaugural 2008 season of the new Indonesian Super League.