Foxtel sponsors leading Australian state league

Football Federation Victoria, the control body in Australia's second largest state, has announced that national pay-tv broadcaster Foxtel Digital has secured the naming rights to the 2007 Mens Victorian Premier League. "The Premier League, widely recognised as the strongest state league competition in Australia will now be known as the Foxtel Cup," FFV President Vasko Stojcevski announced. “Foxtel first joined FFV as a minor sponsor in 2005 and over the past two years, the relationship has blossomed. Foxtel has invested heavily to secure the rights to the Hyundai A-League, Socceroos matches and a wide range of international leagues and now our partnership should help further consolidate their standing within the football community." The 2007 Premier League will comprise 16 teams, including the Australian Institute of Sport.