AFC Futsal Cup 2007 qualifying groups redrawn

The Asian Football Confederation has has redrawn the groups for the AFC Futsal Championship 2007 qualification round following the withdrawal of Macau, Cambodia and Myanmar.The remaining eight teams have been split into two groups of four each. Lebanon, Chinese Taipei, Maldives and the Philippines in Group A while Iraq, Indonesia, Korea Republic and Guam are in Group B. The new dates for the qualifiers are 1-5 March and all the matches will take place in Taipei Xinzhuang, in Taiwan.

Four places are at stake in the qualifying round and the top two teams from each group will progress to the tournament proper for which 12 teams have automatically qualified. These are defending champions and hosts Japan, Uzbekistan, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Australia, China PR, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia, Tajikistan, Thailand and Turkmenistan.