Bangkok bombs do not change AFF Cup schedule

Group A of the 2007 ASEAN Football Federation Championship will go ahead as planned in Bangkok from 12 January but security will be stepped up in the wake of the recent terror bombings in the city, the Football Association of Thailand has confirmed. "There will be tight security, not only at the stadium but at the hotel and media centre, however I don't expect any problem." FAT president, Vijitr Getkaew, told Tor Chittinand of the Bangkok Post.

The Thailand national team reported for training at the National Football Training Centre, Nong Jok yesterday. Most of the players are from the winning King's Cup team with the addition of Phaitoon Tiebma.

Head coach Charnwit Phalajivin said he knew it was important for Thailand to do well in this tournament. "We were eliminated in the first round of the tournament two years ago. This time we are hosts. We must win the title," he told Chittinand.

Although there are less teams participating and the match for third and fourth placing has been eliminated, the tournament's prize money remains US$100,000 for the winning team, US$50,000 for the runners up and US$15,000 each for the two losing semi-finalists.

"There will be a lot of good matches especially with the decision to make the championship shorter with less teams taking part," said Dato' Paul Mony Samuel, honorary secretary of the ASEAN Football Federation. "The main reason why we have decided to shorten the competition is that the previous championship was too taxing on the national teams taking part. The tournament will be a lot closer than in previous years - you cannot afford to underestimate any of the teams."

Association of South East Nations Football Federation Championship (formerly Tiger Cup) - Match Schedule

Group A (played in Bangkok, Thailand)
12/01/2007 Malaysia - Philippines (Suphachalasai Stadium)
12/01/2007 Thailand - Myanmar (Suphachalasai Stadium)
14/01/2007 Malaysia - Myanmar (Suphachalasai Stadium)
14/01/2007 Thailand - Philippines (Suphachalasai Stadium)
16/01/2007 Myanmar - Philippines (Thai Army Sports Stadium)
16/01/2007 Thailand - Malaysia (Suphachalasai Stadium)

Group B (played in Singapore) *
13/01/2007 Indonesia - Laos (Stadium of Singapore)
13/01/2007 Singapore - Vietnam (Stadium of Singapore)
15/01/2007 Singapore - Laos (Stadium of Singapore)
15/01/2007 Vietnam - Indonesia (Stadium of Singapore)
17/01/2007 Singapore - Indonesia (Stadium of Singapore)
17/01/2007 Vietnam - Laos (Jalan Besar Stadium)

Semi Finals (Home and Away)
23/01/2007 Winner Group A - Runner Up Group B
24/01/2007 Winner Group B - Runner Up Group A
27/01/2007 Runner Up Group B - Winner Group A
28/01/2007 Runner Up Group A - Winner Group B

Cup Final (Home and Away)
31/01/2007 Winner Semi 1 - Winner Semi 2
04/02/2007 Winner Semi 2 - Winner Semi 1

*Tickets for Singapore matches are available at the Football Association of Singapore office, Jalan Besar Stadium (T: +65 6348 3477; F: +65 6348 6477) from Mondays to Friday, during office hours (9am to 5pm): Grandstand (National Stadium only) S$10.00; Adult Gallery S$6.00; Children-Students Gallery S$2.00.

Previous winners:

1996 Thailand
1998 Singapore
2000 Thailand
2002 Thailand
2004 Singapore

The ASEAN Football Federation has grown in size and stature since its inception in 1984 with six members. Today, it has representatives from all 11 members of the Association of South East Asian Nations, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam. While Australia and the Maldives are members of the ASEAN Region for Asian Football Confederation administrative purposes they are not [yet] members of the AFF.