15 Indian teams in U-15 Man United Premier Cup

Fifteen teams are participating in the Indian eliminations of the 2007 Nike-sponsored, boys U-15 Manchester United Premier Cup being played in Mumbai from 10-13 January. The winner goes on to the South East Asian finals with the eventual Asian representative joining the world finals which reportedly will be held this year in either "Malaysia, South Korea, Japan or China in mid July."

The MU Premier Cup was developed by Nike in 1993 with 624 teams from 15 European countries competing in the inaugural year. Since then, it has spread to include organised tournaments in 40 countries in North America, Latin America, Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia-Pacific, and South Africa, with more than 7,000 teams competing annually. Some of the most famous clubs in the world - including FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Ajax, Arsenal, Corinthians, Futbol Club America, FC Porto and, of course, Manchester United - compete in the tournament.

For example, Mexican team Chivas Guadalajara beat Arsenal to win the final at Old Trafford, Manchester, in 2006.