150 teams in 2007 Australian futsal championships

Up to 1500 futsal players across 150 teams will converge on Canberra in early January for the 2007 Australian National Futsal Championships. Competing States and Territories will be vying to be named Futsal champions of Australia, which will be decided across a multitude of age groups, both male and female. There will also be teams from New Zealand and the Solomon Islands appearing at the five-day tournamentover 8-12 January. The competition brings together the best Futsal players from around Australia competing in age groups from under 10 boys and under 11 girls to open age men and women. A number of Qantas Futsalroos will compete in the open men's division where national coach Scott Gilligan will cast his eye of national team hopefuls ahead of next May's AFC Futsal Championships.