Calcutta Football League scores 5-year sponsor

Major sponsors of the Indian cricket team and the India hockey team, the Sahara Parivar Group, has signed a five-year deal with the Calcutta Football League. While the sponsorship will lift the profile of the local league, Sahara also plans to promote the sport at the grassroots level, by supporting football in East Bengal state "from the nursery to the senior level", Express News Service reported.

The Calcutta Football League is the oldest football league in Asia and one of the oldest in the world. Since 1934 only one club besides Mohun Bagan, East Bengal and Mohammedan Sporting, has won the league title. In 2005, Mohun Bagan won the CFL's Premier division.