Four European finalists for Indian national coach

Bob Houghton, Clemence Westerhoff, Ian Porterfield and Brian Kerr have been shortlisted by the Technical Committee of All India Football Federation for the post of Indian football coach and have been invited for interviews on 24 May. "A special General Body Meeting has been called on 26 May to discuss certain amendments to the Federation's constitution and the name of the new coach may be announced then," an AIFF spokesman told the Press Trust Of India.

The four men were selected from 11 recomended by the Asian Football Confederation two weeks ago: Brian Kerr, former coach of Republic of Ireland. Ian Porterfield, former manager of Chelsea and Bolton Wanderers and FA Cup winner with Sheffield United who has had previous stints with the national teams of Zambia, Oman and Trinidad and Tobago. Clemence Westorhof, former manager of PSV Eindhoven, Ajax, the Netherlands' Under-21 side and the Nigeria 1994 World Cup team. Bob Houghton, who took Swedish side Malmo to the Champions Cup Final in 1978-79. Milos Hrstic who represented Yugoslavia as a defender in the 1982 World Cup. Milton Queiroz da Paixao who has coaching experience in Japan's J-League. Jorge Mario Olguin, a defender in Argentina's 1978 World Cup winning side. Colwyn Rowe, an instructor with the England Football Association. Amir Alagic, an UEFA 'A' licensed coach, Roy Maicol Barreto and Predarg Juka.

See also: Eleven finalists for Indian national coach position (6 May)