Nike reveals World Cup kits of eight nations

In the heart of the stadium where the title of the world's best football team will be determined this summer, Nike has unveiled national team uniforms for the eight Nike-sponsored teams competing in the World Cup, including title holder Brazil, as well as Australia, Croatia, Holland, Korea, Mexico, Portugal and the United States of America.

The new uniforms use the innovative Nike Sphere Dry apparel technology to keep players cool on the pitch. Nike worked with each federation on the development of the uniforms. Unique designs for each uniform, such as numbers, colors, collars and detailing, are inspired by that country's football heritage.

Each of the eight teams was represented by a player wearing the home uniform of their country: Adriano for Brazil; Marco Bresciano for Australia; Dado Prso for Croatia; Ruud van Nistelrooy for Holland; JS Park for Korea; Jared Borgetti for Mexico; Luis Figo for Portugal; and DaMarcus Beasley for the USA.

"Great football is inspiring, on the street and in the stadium, and Nike is in Berlin today to celebrate brilliant football," Charlie Denson, president of the Nike brand, said at the Berlin event. "Nike football is about the joy of playing. Our products, our players and our global brand leadership reflect that."

Denson highlighted Nike's dramatic growth in football in just over a decade, from roughly a US$40 million business in 1994 to one that is approaching US$1.5 billion today. This year Nike expects to sell a record 23 million pair of football footwear, more than 10 million balls and more than two million of the World Cup team replica uniforms.