Cambodia to host second AFC President's Cup

Cambodia has been selected as the host of the second edition of the AFC President’s Cup. The tournament will be played from 10 to 20 May and the draw for the event will take place in Phnom Penh on 23 March. The Asian Football Confederation's decision was taken under the acting chairmanship of Nasser Nawamooz, the AFCMedia reported.

Clubs from eight countries – Bhutan, Chinese Taipei, Cambodia, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Tajikistan – will take part in the 11-day event. The teams will be divided into two groups of four and the top two teams will make it to the last four stage.

The participating clubs are Transport United (Bhutan), Tatung (Chinese Taipei), Khemara (Cambodia), Dordoi-Dynamo (Kyrgyzstan), Pakistan Army (Pakistan), Ratnam Sports Club (Sri Lanka) and FC Vakhsh (Tajikistan). The identity of Nepal’s representatives will be known after the league ends in the Himalayan country on Tuesday.

Tajikistan’s Regar-TadAZ defeated Kyrgyzstan’s Dordoi-Dynamo to win last year’s AFC President’s Cup which was held in Nepal.