Nepal and Bangladesh cohost AFC Challenge Cup

Nepal and Bangladesh will co-host the inaugural Asian Football Confederation Challenge Cup next year, the AFC has announced. Played 25 March - 9 April 2006, the event features 16 'emerging' footballing countries of Asia, divided into four groups. League matches of Group A and B will be played in Nepal while the league matches of Groups C and D will be hosted by Bangladesh.

Group A includes India, Taiwan, Philippines and Afghanistan; Group B has Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and Brunei; Group C has Palestinian territories, Bangladesh, Cambodia and Guam; and Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan and Macau make Group D.

See also: Asian continental tournament developments (2 Nov)