Thapa reelected for third term at Nepal Congress

Ganesh Thapa was unanimously re-elected as All Nepal Football Association president for a four-year term at the ANFA Congress. It is his third straight term after first taking the chair in April 1994.

Mahesh Bista was elected senior vice-president while Kishore Rai, Karma Tschering Sherpa, Kumar Thapa and Lalit Krishna Shrestha were elected vice-presidents. Narendra Shrestha is the new general secretary and Birat Jung Shahi has retained the post of treasurer. The other elected members were Ganesh Bhattarai, Ganesh Chand, Suresh Ligal, Mani Kunwar, Govardan Singh Samjhana, Deepak Khati, Raju Shahi, Dhirendra Pradhan and Basanta Aryal.

Addressing delegates, Thapa reportedly warned the National Sports Council not to interfere in the running of associations, referring to the past incidents when the NSC had formed a separate, parallel association.