Teething problems for A-League finances

The new A-League football competition competition covering Australia and New Zealand has developed some teething problems, News Talk Auckland reports. Just over three weeks out from the start of the inaugural season, only three of the eight clubs have paid the second instalment of their participation levy to Football Federation Australia.
Sydney FC, Queensland Roar and Adelaide have all fronted with the $500,000. Newcastle and Perth Glory are "refusing to pay", due to disputes over some aspects of the competition. Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory are yet to get the funds and have entered special agreements with the FFA. However, it is unclear what the Auckland-based Football Knights are yet to pay the, New Zealand report said.